Data shows Imran Khan among top 10 least regular legislators in National Assembly


By Basit Ali Khan


Pakistan Tehreek-e-Insaf (PTI) chief Imran Khan recorded the lowest attendance among the Parliamentary Leaders in 14th National Assembly which held 54 sessions comprising 468 sittings during  its parliamentary years 2013-2018.


According to Free and Fair Election Network (FAFEN) report on “Attendance and Quorum in National Assembly of Pakistan (June 2013-March 2018)”, the PTI chief attended only 20 sittings of the House followed by Ch Parvez Elahi of Pakistan Muslim League who attended 63 sittings out of 468.



The highest attendance among the Parliamentary Leaders was of Mehmood Khan Achakzai of Pakhtunkhwa Milli Awami Party (PkMAP) 369/468.



Among all the legislators, Imran Khan is on No. 2 among the top 10 least regular legislators.



The top on the list is Ali Mohammad Khan Mahar of PML-N while Muhammad Hamza Shehbaz Sharif is on the third position among the top 10 least regular legislators. With her 99 percent attendance Kiran Haider of PML-N is the most regular legislator in the House.

During all these years 73 legislators ensured maximum attendance 71 percent.



Former Prime Minister Muhammad Nawaz Sharif had attended 44 sittings during his term as Leader of the House, double than that by Imran Khan.


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *