New party-wise Senate composition after March 3 elections



While the election for the Senate’s new Chairman and Deputy Chairman are due on Monday (today), check out position of each political party in the upper house–the Senate.

Let’s see which party succeeds in bringing it’s nominated candidates for the two top seats. An independent senator-elect Sadiq Sanjrani from Balochistan has emerged as a top contender for the post of Senate chairman, following the PTI, PPP, MQM-P and Balochistan senators reportedly reached consensus on his nomination.

The PML-N had suggested the name of PPP stalwart and outgoing Senate chairman Mian Raza Rabbani—who was reelected in the Senate elections on March 03. However a formal announcement about PML-N’s candidate in morning.

A total of 53 votes are needed to win the posts.




It is pertinent to mention here that in the wake of the Supreme Court’s verdict disqualifying deposed prime minister Nawaz Sharif as the PML-N chief, the party’s nominees had contested the Senate elections as independent candidates.

Meanwhile Senator Sajid Sanjrani was elected as the Chairman Senate and Senator Saleem Mandviwalla as the Deputy Chairman Senate. Below are the elections’ results.


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *