Representation Without Taxation: CIRP’s Report Unmasked Tax Evasion in Parliament

A study last year by CIRP found 67% lawmakers in the Senate and National Assembly who did not file tax returns in 2011 other than President of Pakistan.

A separate analysis of cabinet members identified 62% ministers as non-filers.  Senate and National Assembly combine have 446 members; 90 of them were without NTN. Even Yousaf Raza Gillani got registered himself for NTN two-years after becoming prime minister. There was no party in the Parliament who did not have non-taxpaying lawmakers.  Ironically, Parliament is the institution authorized to impose taxes but the parliamentarians have not set good example for others to follow.

To download this report, click here

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *