Tax claims of top leaders denied by FBR

When a candidate fills out the nomination papers, he/she declares that all the information furnished is correct and agrees that any misrepresentation of facts on his/her part shall be liable to be punished.

Here is the declaration that is signed by each candidate:

“I……………..S/o………….state that failure to give detail regarding any item of this form shall render my nomination to contest election invalid or if any information given herein above are found incorrect at any time, my election shall stand void ab initio.” 

Keeping in view the above-mentioned declaration, CIRP examined nomination papers and matched them with the details provided by FBR to ECP. Out of 1,070 winning candidates, only 542 lawmakers claimed they had made their income tax payments. After comparing the information given in the nomination papers with the record shared by FBR with ECP, CIRP has noted that tax claims of 32 per cent lawmakers were inconsistent with FBR data.

Two types of discrepancies were noted: (1) The tax payment claimed by a winning candidate was denied by FBR, and (2) FBR data showed that the amount of tax paid was actually less than what was stated in the nomination papers. For instance, if a candidate claimed to have paid Rs. 1,000 income tax, as per FBR record he had actually paid Rs. 500 thus pointing out that he was less than honest while declaring his tax details  in the nomination papers.

National Assembly has 201 lawmakers who said they had made tax payments. Upon analysis of the information given in nomination papers and FBR data, we found out that declarations of 53 MNAs were not supported by FBR data. They form 26 per cent of the MNAs who otherwise claimed to have paid income tax.

MNAs whose tax declarations in nomination papers were contradicted by FBR include big names like Prime Minister Mian Nawaz Sharif, PTI Chairman Imran Khan, PTI Vice Chairman Shah Mehmood Qureshi, Speaker National Assembly Sardar Ayaz Sadiq, JUI-F Chief Maulana Fazl-ul-Rehman, MQM Parliamentary Leader Dr Farooq Sattar, State Minister for Information & Technology Anusha Rehman, Shafqat Mehmood, Asim Nazir, Nabeel Gabol, Sh. Rohail Asghar, Shazia Mari and Makhdoom Khusroo Bakhtiar.

Punjab Assembly has 182 lawmakers who claimed to have paid their income tax liabilities. However, FBR record did not support the claims of 53 MPAs.

Included among those whose declarations are at variance are: Chief Minister Mian Shehbaz Sharif, Speaker Rana Muhammad Iqbal; Deputy Speaker Sardar Sher Ali Gorchani; Minister for Mines and Minerals Sher Ali Khan; Minister for Population Welfare Zakia Shah Nawaz Khan; Minister for Industries, Commerce and Investment Ch. Muhammad Shafique. Other prominent figures in the list are: Tahir Ahmed Sindhu, Munazir Hussain Ranjha, Shaukat Manzoor Cheema, Arshad Lodhi and Samina Khawar Hayat.

Sindh Assembly has 104 lawmakers who said they had paid their income tax dues, but a perusal of record identified at least 40 cases where details given in nomination papers were disputed by FBR data.

There are several prominent figures whose tax declarations have not been confirmed by the FBR data. They include: Speaker Agha Siraj Durrani, Opposition Leader Faisal Subzwari, Minister for Works and Communications Mir Hazar Khan Bijarani, Minister for Prisons, Mines and Mineral Development Manzoor Wassan, Minister for Food Mehtab Hussain Dahar, Minister for Parliamentary Affairs Sikandar Mandhro, Minister for Livestock Jam Khan, and Minister for Women Development Rubina Saadat Qaimkhani. Former Chief Minister Dr. Arbab Ghulam Rahim is also featured in the list.

KP Assembly has 36 lawmakers who declared that they had no outstanding income tax liabilities on the dates fixed by ECP. However, cross-matching with FBR data found out that at least in 16 cases such declarations were not correct.

Prominent figures in this category are: Chief Minister Pervez Khattak, Minister for Elementary and Secondary Education Muhammad Atif, Minister for Prisons Malik Qasim Khattak and Special Assistant to Chief Minister on Social Welfare Meher Taj Roghani.

Baluchistan Assembly has 21 MPAs who claimed to have paid their taxes. However, comparison of record discovered nine cases wherein the declared information was not verified by FBR data. Key leaders listed in this category include: Chief Minister Dr Abdul Malik, Minister for Revenue, Excise and Taxation Jaafar Mandokhel, Saleh Bhootani, Moulana Abdul Waasay, and Tariq Magsi.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *